New Semester, New Finances

thought bubble

My last and final semester of my undergraduate career starts next week! While it is hard to believe that four years has already flown by, I try to establish goals to achieve by the end of each semester. From my experience and time spent here at Connex, I thought I would try to create more finance-related goals instead of my typical “get on the dean’s list” goal.

1. Be strict on my budget.                                                                                       This is a long-term goal that I always try to achieve since I started my first job at 16, but this time I feel like now more than ever, I need to start being smart with my money!  A major part of this goal is for me to start monitoring my spending and to try not to spend more than I take in.

2. Save money.                                                                                                    Another goal I always keep in mind. I feel that this is extra important because graduation is approaching faster than I’d like to think, which also means I will have to start making payments for my loans. It would be ideal to be able to have a good start after my grace period. Setting up automatic transfers from checking to savings in Online Banking is a great way to start.

3. Understanding my loans.                                                                             Speaking of loans, I also would like to take the time to understand the loans that I currently have. What type do I have? Federal? Private? What is my interest rate? When do I start paying?

4. Find a job.                                                                                                               The most important goal of them all!

I am going to try to achieve these goals by May and it will be such a great feeling to know I stuck to these goals that will help me in the long run.

Do you create goals for a new semester? I’d love to hear some of yours! Please share and comment below.

Lauren Dufour – VP of Unbanking

Improving the lives of our members... one member at a time.

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Improve your life
2 comments on “New Semester, New Finances
  1. Great post! I tried using the envelope system, tracking my money by dividing it into sections. It’s hard! But I feel that I’m saving way more than I was when I was just trying to “not spend a lot” on my card, you know? Great points, especially #3; still beginning to understand my loans!

  2. I have learn some good stuff here. Definitely price bookmarking for revisiting.
    I wonder how so much effort you place to create any such great
    informative web site.

Leave a Reply

