Meet the New Vice President of Unbanking!

Hello! My name is Lauren Dufour and I am the new Vice President of Unbanking at Connex Credit Union! What is Unbanking you might ask? Here at Connex, we want all of our members to “Unbank” because contrary to popular belief, credit unions offer the full scope of financial services like a bank. The difference is the personal attention and commitment to improve your life that banks seem to overlook.

Before I started my experience here, I knew very little about credit unions and while I am still learning the ins and outs of this financial institution I can tell you that credit unions are awesome! Credit unions are unique in a sense that every member is an owner, meaning that the credit union is able to share its profits with members and not corporate stockholders. Basically, members pool their money together to other members, which allows for credit unions to have competitive rates and lower fees.

What really stuck out to me the most though is that credit unions are operated and owned by members. This really gave me the feeling credit unions are a lot like a close-knit community showing me that credit unions are very personalized and are all about their members.

To get to know me better, I am currently a senior at Quinnipiac University, majoring in public relations. I am all about giving a people a voice when needed.  Before working at Connex, I spent this past summer interning at the Yale School of Nursing working in the public affairs department. From working at an educational institute, I have gained experience on how to promote a graduate degree program to potential, current, and new students which in a way can be similar to what I would like to do with my position here at Connex.

As the VP of Unbanking, I am here to represent YOU and Connex to create a happier and easier Unbanking experience. I want to serve as liaison between members, non-members, and new members as well as learn what you would like to see happen here at Connex. Please do not hesitate to tell me more about yourself and your experiences with banking and Unbanking.

I am so excited to share my thoughts and experiences with all of you. Throughout my duration here at Connex, I will be blogging, updating our Facebook and Twitter, and creating videos. Be on the lookout and I would love to hear your feedback! Please make sure you introduce yourself to me at future events!

Until next time,

Lauren Dufour, Vice President of Unbanking

Improving the lives of our members... one member at a time.

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Community Outreach

Leave a Reply

