Top 10 Consumer Complaints – Part 2

The other week I went over the first 5 of the top 10 consumer complaints according to the Consumer Federation of America in their annual Consumer Complaint Survey Report. This report uncovers insights into the most common consumer complaints of 2011. Here are the rest of the top 10.

6.       Service Complaints

One example of a service complaint could be if a repair or service technician comes to fix something and they don’t fix it right or at all.

Solutions: As I have mentioned before, my first week of setting up a new internet service was full of downtime and interruptions. What I didn’t mention was that I had to have a service technician come to my place twice. I’m convinced the first technician did nothing because as soon as he left, my internet was back down. Thankfully the second technician got my internet running smoothly. I think it’s a good idea to always get the technicians name and ask them to 100% verify that they have solved your issue.

7.       Internet Sales Complaints

Many consumers complain of getting scammed with fake or nonexistent products online.

Solutions:  This is something I fell for a few years ago. I had been looking for a new pair of sunglasses. I wanted brand name, but without the brand name price. I found a website claiming to be selling legitimate brand name sunglasses, but for a severely discounted price. I can tell you that if it sounds too good to be true, it probably is. When I got the sunglasses they were obviously knock-offs and on top of that, they snapped in half after a week. My advice is to always use a known website of a company that you trust.

8.       Tenant Complaints

Rent disputes and a landlord’s failure to listen rank on the list.

Solutions: This top complaint speaks a lot to me. It was only a few months ago that I was out apartment hunting. I made sure to visit every place with a list of questions. I also did not allow them to pressure me into putting a deposit down on a place I wasn’t 100% sure about. I made sure to ask for a copy of the lease to read over and make sure there weren’t any outrageous terms. Finally, I went online and read reviews about each place. There are plenty of websites that allow tenants to rate and review apartments. By reading those I was able to narrow down my list. My advice is to make sure you read your lease and know what you’re getting into before you sign. If my landlord wasn’t listening to my complaints I would be persistent and see if they are breaking either the lease or housing laws. If my landlord was breaking any laws, I would take my complaint to the proper authorities.

9.       Fraud Complaints

Fake sweepstakes and lotteries and other “make money fast” schemes fall into this category.

Solutions: Again, my rule is that if it sounds too good to be true it probably is. I only enter sweepstakes and contests of known companies that I trust.

10.   Household Product Complaints

These complaints relate to delivery or repair issues dealing with furniture or appliances.

Solutions: I don’t have a lot of experience with furniture or appliances, but I do have one story about a mattress I recently purchased and got delivered. When I bought my new mattress there was a pamphlet that listed benefits to buying it from the store I did buy it from. One of the benefits was getting a free mattress cover with the delivery. The day my mattress was delivered, there was no mattress cover included. I simply called the store and they were happy to provide one. So my advice would be that if you’re promised something, make sure you get what you’re promised.

Do you have any advice or stories about being a savvy consumer? Please share! 🙂

Source: Consumer Complain Report from the Consumer Federation of America

-Chris, Marketing

Improving the lives of our members... one member at a time.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Financial Education, Improve your life

Leave a Reply

