Nickelodeon is still teaching us what its all about

When I stumbled across an email blast entitled: “Lunch with Alum- VP of Nickelodeon!” I did a double take. Lunch? Nickelodeon? And all I have to do is RSVP? Yes, please! I was thrilled that my school actually had a guest that I was truly interested in speaking with, since Nickelodeon has been a long time favorite of mine and I’m a media junkie who wants to know how one would become the Vice President/Creative Director of Nickelodeon.

 

Richard Barry is the Vice President and Creative Director for Nickelodeon International, which means he is responsible for the globalization of brands like Spongebob. The lunch was a gathering of like minded people, all wondering how they can be the next creator director and how Nickelodeon could ever get rid of Doug and Slime Time Live.

 Barry offered great insights as to how he landed this job, starting with recommending us to take that odd internship at Howard Stern like he did, or any other well known company since its those experiences that will set you apart. Barry recommended that instead of spending time interning at multiple smaller companies to build up experience, intern for free for a semester at a big name company like CBS or NBC or MTV because it is those names that future employers will note, instead of skimming over unknown companies with a nod and smile.

Barry brought up hopeful points that entering a field as creative as media will always be rewarding because it’s something new everyday, and the people entering those fields will actually have a passion for what they do.

                So Key Things to remember from Barry:

  1. Take a chance at a unique or even odd job!
  2. A free semester of interning with better known companies WILL pay-off down the road
  3. DO what interests YOU

Passion for doing something is what will make anything you do successful, and its simple things like passion that keeps true brands like Nickelodeon alive. Barry has worked there for over 20 years and there really is no end in sight.

As VP of Unbanking, I keep those 3 points in the back of my mind when I think of how I can improve myself. I took a chance even applying for the position of VP and now that I am VP, I know how I’ll take my experiences here to my future job. Meeting with Barry makes me want to be a better VP since what interests me probably interests many of our members and non-members, like gaining control of my finances (in 6 shorts months I will be “on my own”), and finding a job that satisfies both my mind and wallet.

Do you guys have any Key Things you keep in the back of your mind to better yourself? Any New Years resolutions that have become a little harder than you predicted?

Erin King, VP of Unbanking

Improving the lives of our members... one member at a time.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

