Track EVERY dollar to budget effectively

Susie P Blog Header
So, we’re three months into the Connex Savings Challenge and what I am most aware of is how habitual spending money has been for me. My routine of hitting the market on any random day, without thought, has stopped. I would go to the market and see what I needed rather than taking inventory of my cupboards and making a list beforehand.

Last month, I started limiting my trips to the grocery store to see how I could get by with what I already had in my cupboard. I had guests over for dinner, which was made with food I already had at home. It was more than enough and, of course, DE-lish!

Now, I make a weekly trip to the market to pick up fresh fruit and veggies. (I still have more than enough food in the cupboards.) My “veggie need” will also cease soon, due to using my budding garden. I hope to yield enough produce to freeze for use in the fall and winter. I closed my garden way too early last year and will not make that error this year.

Also, I canceled my home water delivery and installed a purifier on my tap. Another choice was to shut the cable off and cut my land phone service back to the minimum plan, which sliced my bill in half!

Tracking every dollar has been an eye-opener! I utilize different accounts for different spending: one for business use only, for bill pay, and for food/household expenses only. This has been great and SO easy. Budgeting is really a cinch now.

Are there things that you have to buy frequently like food or gas? What are some ways you could save on your frequent expenses?

–Susie Piedmont

This is an entry from the 2009 Connex Savings Challenge Blog, a place where you can keep up with the Savings Challenge families and they can share great financial tips, ways they are saving and budgeting and much more! For more blog entries and information on the Connex Savings Challenge, visit www.connexcu.org.

Improving the lives of our members... one member at a time.

Posted in Improve your life, Money Saving Tips

Leave a Reply

