I got my file cabinet back.

I had accumulated too many documents containing personal information. Actually it was a two drawer file cabinet full of stuff. Tax returns back to 1989, pay stubs, credit union statements (now with e-statements I don’t have to worry about those!), auto and homeowners policies from the ‘90s, and many other documents I needed to destroy. I have a small shredder at home and had attempted to clear out the cabinet but hadn’t made much progress.

I spent a couple of evenings going through the files. There were some things I needed to keep, but the vast majority was way past its usefulness. On Saturday morning I headed for the Connex Branch in Wallingford with my 2 boxes of documents. A representative from Shred It and a Connex employee carried the boxes to the Shred It truck and gave me back the empties. In about 10 seconds it was all gone, right through the on-board shredder.

I highly recommend these Shred It days if you’re like me and have years of accumulated documents stored away. I’m going to relocate my small shredder to a more convenient location and try to use it regularly. And now I have my file cabinet back for current documents.

If anyone else was there, feel free to share your Shred It experience.

A.at Connex

Improving the lives of our members... one member at a time.

Posted in Security issues, Uncategorized
One comment on “I got my file cabinet back.
  1. A member in Guilford says:

    I have a drawer full of paperwork I should shred… pay stubs from a few years ago (before I had direct deposit), old credit card records, other junk. With cold weather upon us, maybe I will burn some of these in the wood stove. Hopefully there will be more Shred It days in the future?

Leave a Reply

